Drc Bb Article On Tristan Thompson

OldTimer

Basketball: In the shadows

Freshman Thompson ok with lack of attention

11:41 PM CST on Wednesday, January 2, 2008

By Brett Vito / Staff Writer

Tristan Thompson just smiled and laughed a few days ago when he was mistaken for Josh White, one of his teammates on the North Texas basketball team.

White is the flashy 5-10 freshman guard who has grabbed headlines while overshadowing what has been a solid start for Thompson in his first season with the Mean Green.

"I am kind of in the background because Josh has had an excellent start," Thompson said. "People ask who that other freshman is. I was at church the other day when I told someone I'm a freshman on the basketball team. He asked me if I was Josh White. I told him no, I'm Tristan. It's cool, though. Josh is my roommate and one of my best friends."

White is among the leading scorers in the nation among freshmen with an average of 16.6 points a game, but isn't the only freshman who has made an impact for UNT. Thompson is averaging 8.7 points a game and has played a key role in UNT getting off to a 9-3 start heading into a game at Troy today.

The game will be the UNT's first in Sun Belt Conference play since the Mean Green dropped its opener in a stunning upset at Denver on Dec. 22.

"We need to get started," UNT head coach Johnny Jones said. "We are on the road again and good teams win on the road. If you are going to win regular season championships, you have to win on the road."

If UNT is to get its first win on the road in Sun Belt play this season, Thompson will have to play a key part.

Troy (6-6, 0-2) is notorious for running in the open court and hoisting 3-point shots at every opportunity. The Trojans have taken 385 3-point shots this season, 74 more than any other team in the Sun Belt, and are shooting 36.6 percent from behind the arc.