My Mean Green Encounter With Nfl Hall Of Famer

PlummMeanGreen

I was shopping just the other day at a West Fort Worth business and in one particular aisle I was in I noticed an older gentleman who was wearing an NFL Alumnus wind-breaker. He greeted me with a Texas-friendly nod at which time I took the opportunity to ask him what his connection with the NFL had been.

Well....................the silver haired senior citizen with a Texas accent told me he had played for the Detroit Lions back when Doak Walker and Bobby Layne were his teammates and with that bit of info I immediately knew from my NFL history lessons of the past just who I was talking to.

As he talked about his collegiate alma mater I then told him I was a proud 1976 graduate of North Texas. He mentioned Hayden Fry to me before I could get a word out and he said that he knew Coach Fry and respected his work. I then told this NFL Hall of Famer that we had just hired Todd Dodge (which he already knew about) and that one day in the future a large number of us felt many would respect Coach Dodge just as he had Hayden Fry. After our conversation ended, I told him what an honor it had been to meet him :rolleyes: and then we went our separate ways.

Not meaning to be a tease with all this, but I will open this up as a trivia question to (most likely) older NT Exes as to who they think this NFL Hall of Famer was that I had met. I'd say what his college alma mater was but I think that would be a dead give away to most of our older alums (and who knows, maybe even a handful of of your young gun alums who know their NFL history as well).

Edited by PlummMeanGreen

Guest GrayEagleOne

Yep, I figured it out, Jim and you're right, the school where he played would be a dead giveaway to the older crowd. His position would make it even easier. By the way, this mystery celebrity is a native Fort Worthian.

I'll hold off on the answer until tomorrow night unless someone comes up with it before then.