Thoughts from a long time fan

untgeorge

Many think these two losses are the end of the world. If you were a fan as long as I have been, you would think differently.

Keith has tried to compare DDs record with the all-time school W-L record. No valid comparison of such can be made, not even if you take out the 2-year schools and other entities such as Fort Hood we played early in the 20th century. The modern era in football is considered by many writers to have begun in 1960, coincidentally a year before I graduated. If you look at the modern era you find:

- We have had only one HC with a winning record, Hayden Fry

- We have an overall losing record during that period

- Our last conferfence championship was in 1984, the Southland, and the prevous was in 1973

- Our last consecutive conference championships were in '66 and '67

- We have had 15 years of 3 wins or less and more painful last minutes losses than I can begin to recount

By comparison, these are the golden years. The best football memory I have is the Miracle in the Desert, which even though there were two conference games left told us we would win the conference. The next best is the bowl win over Cincinnati.

The progress we are making is visible. Four consecutive conference championships, four consecutive bowls (more than in our previous 85 year history), two consecutive national rushing leaders. An old timers thought: is this really happening to us? A boom in new facilities, all of which (other than football stadium) will be on stream by the end of the calendar year. (Baseball might not be, but we don't control that.) Steadily increasing attendance, the most recent evidence of that being a crowd of 23,000 for a game with an opponent which has never been a big draw in the past, and which was achieved without a promotional push. Attendance had improved every year under DD until last season, when we had the low turnout Tuesday night game.