Side Show Joe

Members
  • Content count

    2,333
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    9

Side Show Joe last won the day on May 20

Side Show Joe had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

2,679 Purple Heart

About Side Show Joe

  • Rank
    Mean Green Eagle
  • Birthday October 26

Contact Methods

  • core_pfield_3
    http://

Profile Information

  • Home
    Burkburnett, Texas
  • Interests
    My wife, football, basketball, golf, boxing, tailgating, jokes and movies...

Recent Profile Visitors

4,869 profile views
  1. I'm tired of the Dallas Morning News always placing us near the bottom of every list or ranking they post. Apogee is a wonderful stadium and their biased ranking places us 9th out of the 12 college stadiums in Texas, behind both SMU and UTSA. Even Brett seemed to took a shot. I find no reason for him to add the last line. His summary would have been fine without it. "North Texas has one of the best smaller venues in the state in Apogee Stadium, which opened in 2011. The $78 million stadium has been a huge boost to UNT's program. The environment at night can be terrific when games draw more than 20,000 fans." -Brett Vito Here is the link. https://sportsday.dallasnews.com/college-sports/collegesports/2018/05/27/best-texas-stadiums-can-anyone-offer-college-football-experience-like-aggies-kyle-field
  2. Side Show Joe

    Houston Mean Green- Coaches Caravan June 12th

    Not taking a side in this argument, but every North Texas football coach since we moved back to the DI/FBS level, has been fired too, but Littrell still took the job. Just saying.
  3. Side Show Joe

    Softball

    I respect your opinion, and if it were a different non-revenue sport, I would totally agree. But, I believe softball is an emerging sport, and will one day soon be the top women's college sport. I believe it is important for North Texas to place our program among the best, before coaching salaries reach levels that would make it harder to catch up. I believe DeLong has been a good coach everywhere he has been, and he might get us where I want us to be. I just wanted to get a known talent that had a national name among the best high school players in the country. Yes, it would have been more expensive to hire Lombardi, but in the long run, I believe it would have paid off. Having said that DeLong could have great success. I certainly hope he does.
  4. Side Show Joe

    Recruiting

    Well, SMU has a history of legally paying their players. Does that count?
  5. Side Show Joe

    DRC: UNT hires new softball coach

    I agree, but Baker is a basketball guy. He was on Sutton's staff. I sure he feels much more comfortable dealing with basketball hires. I still wish Baker would have spent some money and raided OU's staff. That would have been a safer bet, and made some noise on the national level. Having said that, I will support DeLong and wish him and our team the best. Go Mean Green!!!
  6. Side Show Joe

    Softball

    Not an attention grabbing hire. And, certainly not the hire I would have made, but he will be the coach. I wish him the best and hope he can turn North Texas into a nation power softball program within the next few seasons. Because that is what I wanted in this hire.
  7. Side Show Joe

    Visitors in New Denton this weekend

    There are some very explosive defensive playmakers in that group. The kind that could see the field this season. I love that the staff was able to get this level of high quality athletes to visit at the same time. I think that is a smart move.
  8. Side Show Joe

    DRC: C-USA adds to television package with ESPN deal

    I believe we would have been better off keeping our extra content on C-USATV, or return the media rights for those games back to the schools. No, it isn't my ideal preference, but I would prefer we did that. At least we would have control of the content, and possibly have beIN or CBS Sports pick up a surprise quality match-up or two during the season. I do not like our games being relegated to espn's streaming service. This season we have zero games on espn, espn2, espnu, or espnNews. They have no respect for our conference. The little money they will pay us for the games they are streaming isn't worth allowing them to cheapen our brand by only placing C-USA conference games on espn's pay-per-view website or espn3. If this deal would have included a set amount of conference games to be aired on the actual espn channels, then I'd probably be okay with it. What we got today is crap, and no one will ever convince me otherwise. I'm not arguing that we didn't get market value. I'm arguing that if that is all the value the market will pay, we should just retain our content and stream it ourselves. Furthermore, I hate espn, and will never pay to watch a game on espn+.
  9. Side Show Joe

    DRC: C-USA adds to television package with ESPN deal

    This is not a "Television Package", it is a streaming deal. And the fact that no financial amount is even mentioned implies we sold it dirt cheap. This is what's wrong with our conference leadership. Here is a direct quote from our commissioner... “ESPN has continually positioned itself on the forefront of digital distribution and emerging platforms, which makes them an ideal fit for us," C-USA commissioner Judy MacLeod said in a statement." I have no problem with having our games available on streaming services, but that should not be our commissioner's idea of an "ideal" media partnership. We need more games airing on actual television channels. I cannot for the life of me figure out why MacLeod has not been fired yet. I wish Smatresk and Baker would pressure the other programs to find C-USA new leadership.
  10. I don't want to follow another school's G5 model. We can be much more if we define our own path to success. I have a simple philosophy... Be the first to do something, or be the best to do something. If you can't do either, do something else. We don't need to follow another program's plan. We need to be innovative and develop new and unique ideas and traditions that will engage more of our alumni and gain more interest from local and national media.. The Great Battle Flag is a prime example. That thing is very unique. Sadly, we could be doing more with that.
  11. Side Show Joe

    2018 Broadcast Schedule is Out

    http://conferenceusa.com/news/2018/6/7/football-fb-c-usa-announces-broadcast-schedule.aspx Date Game Time (ET/CT) Network Sat 8/25 Prairie View A&M @ Rice 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Thu 8/30 Savannah State @ UAB 8:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Fri 8/31 WKU @ Wisconsin 9:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. CT ESPN Sat 9/1 Florida Atlantic @ Oklahoma 12:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. CT FOX Sat 9/1 Houston @ Rice 12:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. CT CBSSN Sat 9/1 Marshall @ Miami (Ohio) 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/1 Fordham @ Charlotte 6:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/1 Indiana @ FIU 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT CBSSN Sat 9/1 Louisiana Tech @ South Alabama 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/1 Middle Tennessee @ Vanderbilt 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT SECNA Sat 9/1 SMU @ North Texas 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT Stadium Sat 9/1 Northern Arizona @ UTEP 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 9/1 UTSA @ Arizona State 10:30 p.m. ET/9:30 p.m. CT FS1 Sat 9/1 Jackson State @ Southern Miss 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/8 Air Force @ Florida Atlantic 2:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. CT CBSSN/Facebook Sat 9/8 Appalachian State @ Charlotte 6:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/8 Eastern Kentucky @ Marshall 6:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/8 Baylor @ UTSA 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT CBSSN/Facebook Sat 9/8 UT Martin @ Middle Tennessee 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/8 UAB @ Coastal Carolina 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/8 Incarnate Word @ North Texas 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/8 FIU @ Old Dominion 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT beIN Sat 9/8 Maine @ WKU 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/8 Southern @ Louisiana Tech 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/8 UL Monroe @ Southern Miss 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 9/15 UTEP @ Tennessee 12:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. CT SECN Sat 9/15 Southern Miss @ Appalachian State 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/15 UTSA @ Kansas State 4:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. CT FSN Sat 9/15 North Texas @ Arkansas 4:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. CT SECNA Sat 9/15 Old Dominion @ Charlotte 6:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 9/15 Middle Tennessee @ Georgia 7:15 p.m. ET/6:15 p.m. CT ESPN2 Sat 9/15 Massachusetts @ FIU 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT beIN Sat 9/15 Marshall @ South Carolina 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT ESPNU Sat 9/15 WKU @ Louisville 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT ACC RSN Sat 9/15 Bethune-Cookman @ Florida Atlantic TBA Stadium Sat 9/15 Tulane @ UAB TBA Stadium/Facebook Fri 9/21 Florida Atlantic @ UCF 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN Sat 9/22 Virginia Tech @ Old Dominion 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT CBSSN Sat 9/22 NC State @ Marshall 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT CBSSN Sat 9/22 Texas State @ UTSA 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/22 New Mexico State @ UTEP 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 9/22 Rice @ Southern Miss 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/29 Charlotte @ UAB TBA ESPN3 Sat 9/29 Florida Atlantic @ Middle Tennessee 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT Stadium/Facebook Sat 9/29 Arkansas Pine Bluff @ FIU 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/29 UTEP @ UTSA 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 9/29 Louisiana Tech @ North Texas 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT beIN Sat 9/29 Marshall @ WKU 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT Stadium Fri 10/5 Middle Tennessee @ Marshall 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT CBSSN Sat 10/6 UAB @ Louisiana Tech 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT Stadium/Facebook Sat 10/6 UTSA @ Rice 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 10/6 North Texas @ UTEP 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT beIN Sat 10/6 Old Dominion @ Florida Atlantic TBA Stadium Sat 10/13 Southern Miss @ North Texas 2:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 10/13 WKU @ Charlotte 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 10/13 Marshall @ Old Dominion 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT Stadium Sat 10/13 Louisiana Tech @ UTSA 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 10/13 Middle Tennessee @ FIU 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT beIN Sat 10/13 UAB @ Rice 1:00 p.m./12:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 10/20 Florida Atlantic @ Marshall 2:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. CT CBSSN/Facebook Sat 10/20 Charlotte @ Middle Tennessee 3:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 10/20 Rice @ FIU 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 10/20 Old Dominion @ WKU 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 10/20 North Texas @ UAB 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT beIN Sat 10/20 UTEP @ Louisiana Tech 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 10/20 UTSA @ Southern Miss 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Fri 10/26 Louisiana Tech @ Florida Atlantic 6:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. CT CBSSN Sat 10/27 Southern Miss @ Charlotte 2:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 10/27 Middle Tennessee @ Old Dominion 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 10/27 Rice @ North Texas 4:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 10/27 FIU @ WKU 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT beIN Sat 10/27 UAB @ UTEP 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Fri 11/2 WKU @ Middle Tennessee 8:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. CT CBSSN Sat 11/3 Marshall @ Southern Miss 3:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. CT Stadium/Facebook Sat 11/3 UTEP @ Rice 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 11/3 Florida Atlantic @ FIU 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT Stadium Sat 11/3 UTSA @ UAB 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT beIN Sat 11/10 Charlotte @ Marshall 2:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 11/10 Middle Tennessee @ UTEP 3:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 11/10 North Texas @ Old Dominion 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 11/10 FIU @ UTSA 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 11/10 Southern Miss @ UAB 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT beIN Sat 11/10 WKU @ Florida Atlantic TBA Stadium/Facebook Sat 11/10 Rice @ Louisiana Tech 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Thu 11/15 Florida Atlantic @ North Texas 9:30 p.m. ET/8:30 p.m. CT CBSSN Sat 11/17 FIU @ Charlotte 2:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 11/17 VMI @ Old Dominion 2:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 11/17 UTSA @ Marshall 2:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. CT Stadium/Facebook Sat 11/17 Louisiana Tech @ Southern Miss 3:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. CT Stadium Sat 11/17 UTEP @ WKU 7:30 p.m. ET/6:30 p.m. CT beIN Sat 11/24 Marshall @ FIU 12:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. CT Stadium/Facebook Sat 11/24 WKU @ Louisiana Tech 12:00 p.m. ET/11:00 a.m. CT CBSSN Sat 11/24 Old Dominion @ Rice 1:00 p.m. ET/12 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 11/24 Southern Miss @ UTEP 3:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 11/24 UAB @ Middle Tennessee 3:00 p.m. ET/2:00 p.m. CT ESPN3 Sat 11/24 North Texas @ UTSA 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN+ Sat 11/24 Charlotte @ Florida Atlantic TBA Stadium Sat 12/1 C-USA Championship Game TBA CBSSN Sat 12/15 Gildan New Mexico Bowl 2:00 p.m. ET/1:00 p.m. CT ESPN Sat. 12/15 R+L Carriers New Orleans Bowl 9:00 p.m. ET/8:00 p.m. CT ESPN Tue. 12/18 Cheribundi Tart Cherry Boca Raton Bowl 7:00 p.m. ET/6:00 p.m. CT ESPN %Thu. Dec. 20 Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl 8:00 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. CT ESPN Fri. 12/21 Bahamas Bowl 12:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. CT ESPN Sat. 12/22 Hawai’i Bowl 10:30 p.m. ET/9:30 p.m. CT ESPN %Wed. 12/26 Zaxby’s Heart of Dallas Bowl 1:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. CT ESPN *Thu. 12/27 Walk-On’s Independence Bowl 1:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. CT ESPN *secondary agreement if ACC or SEC cannot fill % C-USA is scheduled to participate in either the Bad Boy Mowers Gasparilla Bowl or the Zaxby’s Heart of Dallas Bowl
  12. The guy is a team mate of our Westbrook commit Ward. I love his 247 page. If you have not seen it, check it out. https://247sports.com/player/deonte-simpson-46053447 I like the talent we are collecting. This 3 star guy can catch and has a burst.
  13. Side Show Joe

    CUSA Looking to Double TV Revenue, add ESPN3

    The writer of this article didn't really put much work into the article. Most of the information is from back when the new media deal was announced. I can't see why ESPN would be looking to add some of our games to ESPN, when they just launched ESPN+. We have enough games being streamed on Facebook and Stadium. We need more games on TV.
  14. Side Show Joe

    Softball

    Tell you what, you find me an office in the athletic center, hand me the budgets, and I will move $200,000 to make it work. You might not like where I move the money from, but I would find the funds. This isn't about not having the money, it is about what our priorities are for the money we have. I believe the success of our softball program should be a top priority within the women's sports.
  15. Side Show Joe

    Softball

    Thanks for finding the updated numbers. In my opinion, Lombardi is not going to inherit the OU program. I think Gasso's son will. And yes, $185,000 is very high for a C-USA softball coach. Personally, I believe investing $200,000 in Lombardi would guarantee North Texas becomes a nation power in softball, and in my opinion that is a small price to pay. I'm sure our athletic department could adjust their budgets to free up the funds and make this happen.